Be a Sponge

I am amazed at the little things life sends my way that make a big difference. For example, My local professional photographers guild offers mini seminars April through June. for $200, I purchased a pass to as many of them as I want to go to (about 23/27). Well, the seminar I attended this evening was about framing for your clients. I was a BFA at a school that required undergrads to do a thesis, complete with a gallery show. And I worked for another photographer and had to do a decent amount of framing for them. So I know how to frame. I know how to pick out a frame. I know how to measure out and hang both single frames and clusters of frames. So why go to this seminar? It goes without saying that you will always learn something you didn’t know before. First, I gained a valuable contact in the shop owner who’s store we held the seminar at. Second, he showed us a really neat trick to fitting the backing paper directly to the edge of the frame. Instead of cutting it off with a razor or knife, you sand it off with a medium grade sandpaper on a typical sanding block. There were a number of other little tidbits I learned this evening as well that will prove useful in my personal life, and not just when I’m finishing a product for a client. Such as how to hang the 100 pound mirror my Filipino in-laws gave me and my husband as a wedding present, without having a stud to mount it to.

About sapphireartist

I am.... a Christian who appreciates world religions, a wife, a mother a daughter, a best friend, a strong woman, an artist, a hopeless romantic, a theater buff, a dancer, a musician, a writer, a dog person, a cat person, a sister, an aunt, a food critic, my own worst critic, a world traveler, a lover of freedom, a tree huger, a lover of the sea, a Disney fan, a Virgo, an avid reader, a country girl living in the big city, an actress, a movie goer, a worry wart, a sailor, addicted to cheesecake. I hope to be........well, you'll just have to find out by reading my blog. :)

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

