Recent Yarn Projects

I’m notorious for starting a personal art project and taking forever to finish it. So I’m really proud of myself when I finish personal projects, especially if it’s something I’ve managed to knock out in less than a month. So I just wanted to share a few of my recent finishes and some works in progress.

This little hat only took me three days to finish, but I know I could have done it in a day had I sat still long enough to do it in one sitting. I found the pattern for this little elf hat on www.ravelry.com. If you’re a yarn lover like me and you’re on ravelry, I’d be glad to add you to my friends there. I’m artlover08 on ravelry.

Image

The other photos posted below are earlier projects that I finally got around to snapping a cruddy iPhone photo of. But these little baby hats are totally cute in person!

Image

ImageImage

This fuzzy orange mess is a scarf that I’ve been working on and off for the past four or five years. It’s gotten so boring and I can’t wait to finish with the darn thing! Almost done though! I think it’s got another 45 – 60 minutes left and it will finally be complete. I’m knitting it, which is much slower going for me than crocheting. I’ve been crocheting since I was 8 (almost 20 years) so I’ve become quite the speedy crocheter. It’s knitting that takes me forever because I’m self taught and have only been doing it for five or six years (and I haven’t done it often enough to improve to be honest).

Image

And finally for tonight, here is the pretty baby yarn, granny square afghan I set aside so I could finish the darn orange scarf. It will be the first project I pick back up once the ruddy scarf is done.

Image

Most of what I knit and crochet is just off the cuff so to speak. The little elf hat was the first piece I’d ever followed a pattern for. Most of what I do consists of the basic beginner stitches, but now that I’ve joined a local knitting meet-up group (and thanks to them found ravelry) I’m hoping to expand my stitch knowledge and have a whole stack of really cute patterns to try out. I look forward to sharing those with you in the future.

About sapphireartist

I am.... a Christian who appreciates world religions, a wife, a mother a daughter, a best friend, a strong woman, an artist, a hopeless romantic, a theater buff, a dancer, a musician, a writer, a dog person, a cat person, a sister, an aunt, a food critic, my own worst critic, a world traveler, a lover of freedom, a tree huger, a lover of the sea, a Disney fan, a Virgo, an avid reader, a country girl living in the big city, an actress, a movie goer, a worry wart, a sailor, addicted to cheesecake. I hope to be........well, you'll just have to find out by reading my blog. :)

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Projects, Yarn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

