Well that was pointless

Well, I guess my last post was pointless. LOL. But to be honest, a lot has happened since then. First being that about a week after that post, I found out I was pregnant. My husband and I were soooo excited! Three months later though, we lost our little one when her heart stopped. No explanation, it just stopped. We were devastated, and I was practically dead to the world. I stopped doing all the things I loved. There are NO words to describe the heartbreak of losing a child, especially one you never got a chance to hold. After about a month of being a zombi, I started to get better. I started slowly, first by picking up my point and shoot camera, then some knitting, then eventually threw myself full force into my day job, my art, and a part time photography business. The business has grown significantly and keeps me pretty…well…busy. There were (and still are) nights I would cry myself to sleep, or my husband and I would just start tearing up during dinner. I don’t think that hurt will ever go away, just get a little easier to deal with as time dulls it.

In January, my husband and I discovered that once again, we are expecting a baby. We have gone through a roller coaster of emotions spanning everything from the pure joy of finding out we’re pregnant to absolute terror of losing this baby too. Even now, at only 18 weeks, the thought sticks in the back of our minds that God could call this baby home at any time and there’s not a darn thing any doctor would be able to do to stop it. We pray constantly for a healthy, full term baby in September. My pregnancy is going well so far though and my doctors are positive. We’re excited to find out the baby’s gender later this month.

So with a growing business, a growing family, and the demands of everyday life, my blog and my art haven’t had the attention they deserve. My goal is though, to dedicate at least 30 minutes a week to the blog, and an hour a week to my art. Having placed these in an actual schedule will hopefully keep me up to date with both.

So, in honor of my new commitment, I post my first piece of art here. This is one of my dogs, Reba. Reba is a very special cocker spaniel. She has one blue eye, one brown eye, and a dark brown coat with lots of grey patches. She’s one of the sweethearts who’s helped me make it through the last several months.

20120412-172358.jpg

About sapphireartist

I am.... a Christian who appreciates world religions, a wife, a mother a daughter, a best friend, a strong woman, an artist, a hopeless romantic, a theater buff, a dancer, a musician, a writer, a dog person, a cat person, a sister, an aunt, a food critic, my own worst critic, a world traveler, a lover of freedom, a tree huger, a lover of the sea, a Disney fan, a Virgo, an avid reader, a country girl living in the big city, an actress, a movie goer, a worry wart, a sailor, addicted to cheesecake. I hope to be........well, you'll just have to find out by reading my blog. :)

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Art, Photography, What's going on and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

