Setting Goals

Well, I came to the realization that my office is going to become the spare bedroom now that the spare bedroom (aka – my art room) is going to become the baby’s room. Which means, that I have to figure out what to do with my “Wall of Yarn” and bins full of other crafting things like boxes, beads, scrapbook supplies, paints, etc. Not to mention, I have to find new homes for all the international art I have hanging in there (every time I travel to a new place I buy a painting from a local artist).

I hate to admit it, but most of my craft supplies will become part of our yard sale in June. I cannot bare to part with all my pretty yarns though! My New Year’s resolution since 2006 has been not to buy any more yarn until my current stash is depleted, and so far, I’ve kept that every year since making that resolution. 🙂 Very proud of that one, and yes, I have THAT much yarn. But still, I spent so much time scrounging for sales, searching dye lots, and planning projects that I just can’t let my soft, fuzzy yarns go.

So what’s a girl to do? I have 17 weeks to turn my “wall” into all kinds of pretty scarves, blankets, bags, and shawls that’s what. 🙂 Thankfully, I can crochet a scarf in about 2 hours. It’s the yarns that are finer and need to be knitted that will take me longer to finish (as in a few days or weeks longer).

Since I came to this realization a few weeks ago, I’ve already completed two scarves, a baby blanket, three baby hats, and about fifty little granny squares (no idea what they’ll become yet as the colors are all over the board). I’ve got a third scarf in the works now and decided that I want to start a few things for my own little baby.

Amongst the challenges of getting client work done this weekend, my husband has given me the task of moving my office into the nook in the living room (a huge downsize for my office), and marking things for the yard sale so that he and one of his friends can move everything from the art room into the old office, making room for all the nursery items his parents have provided us with. It will certainly be interesting to make myself throw stuff out and separate stuff into “keep” and “yard sale” piles. I’ve just got to make sure the “yard sale” pile is bigger than the “keep” pile. 🙂 And figure out a new place to stash all my yarn.

About sapphireartist

I am.... a Christian who appreciates world religions, a wife, a mother a daughter, a best friend, a strong woman, an artist, a hopeless romantic, a theater buff, a dancer, a musician, a writer, a dog person, a cat person, a sister, an aunt, a food critic, my own worst critic, a world traveler, a lover of freedom, a tree huger, a lover of the sea, a Disney fan, a Virgo, an avid reader, a country girl living in the big city, an actress, a movie goer, a worry wart, a sailor, addicted to cheesecake. I hope to be........well, you'll just have to find out by reading my blog. :)

Posted on May 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

