Today’s Musings

Well, I’ve had a lot to think about lately, a lot to deal with (who doesn’t), and a lot to prepare for. So here’s what’s been going on lately, what’s been on my mind, and what’s down the road:

Despite being 31 years old, my husband still needs to be “mothered” by me sometimes. After his collapse from heat exhaustion this past weekend, he wanted to jump right back into his normal workout routine. I had to emphasize that he was not to be working out this week unless it was before sunrise. And the crazy man still wants to compete in the triathlon this Saturday!

My father-in-law has been diagnosed with congestive heart failure. My husband hasn’t said how this makes him feel. They are not particularly close and I think that bothers my husband. My mother-in-law says the disease is “under control” with adjustments they’ve made to his diet, medications, and routine. Truth be told though, he could go at any time, which makes my husband feel like our baby is being cheated out of having a grandpa around (my husband’s grandparents were all deceased by the time he was born). Just praying for the best God will give us in this situation and hoping he’ll be around long enough to where his grandchildren will remember him.

Speaking of grandchildren, we recently learned that my sister-in-law (husband’s sister) is expecting her first baby too. She is due in late January and my in-laws are so excited about having two grandbabies a few months apart (our baby will be 4 months old when his cousin is born). We are praying her pregnancy goes well. She’s 41 and because of her age and health history, she’s been labeled as a “high risk” pregnancy. It’s funny listening to my in-laws talk about how they have to buy her the same things they bought us “to be fair.” It’s funny because they don’t stop to think that their needs and likes are different from ours. That and they started counting all the outfits they’ve bought my baby already so they can buy the same number for my niece or nephew. It’s amusing. I do want to make her baby something cute though.

I’ve noticed that when my husband and I leave from my in-laws’ house they don’t tell me “good-bye” anymore. Instead, they tell the baby “good-bye” and forget all about me. They don’t ask how I’m doing anymore either. It’s now, “How’s my grandson?” directed at my belly. I’m sure it’s just the pregnancy hormones talking, but this irks me. I’m the one carrying this kid around for nine months. He’s perfectly fine and while he may recognize voices, he certainly doesn’t know what language is, so there’s no point in telling him “good-bye” or asking my belly how he’s doing. My husband just laughed when I pointed this out, which makes me feel even worse. I’m not just a vessel and that’s what their actions make me feel like.

Okay, trying to get off the rant and think about something nice. A new season of Project Runway is starting later this month, and I will admit that I am a Project Runway junkie. Anytime there’s a re-run on I’ll stop what I’m doing to watch it, even if I’ve seen that episode already. So instead of just plumping down on the couch to watch the new season, I’ve decided that each episode I sit down to watch, I’m going to work on knitting/crochet projects. Then hopefully, I’ll have my baby’s blanket, a bunch of scarves, a gift for my sister-in-law, and a few other baby items done by the end of the season. My sister-in-law will be finding out the gender of her baby in a few weeks (my bet is that it’s a girl – just a feeling I’ve got). I’ve got to wait until then to pick out a pattern and yarn for that project, so I’ll probably finish up my son’s blanket and a few scarves before then. The daunting task after that is photographing and uploading stuff to my Etsy shop. I still have about 30 scarves I’ve already photographed that I have to add. It’s just hard to find the time to sit down and do it.

My husband and I will be attending our second Labor and Delivery class this evening. I don’t much care for the instructor and I really hope she is not one of my delivery nurses when it comes time for this baby to arrive. She’s just way too brash for my personality. The thing I don’t like about her teaching methods is that I’m one of those people who learns best by “doing” and all she does is lecture and show us a Power Point presentation. “You can all practice at home” is her way of saying “I want to get out of here at 9 instead of 9:30.” She even told us not to bring pillows to the rest of the classes because we “won’t need them” since we won’t ever be sitting on the floor. Well, forget that! The chairs they have us sitting in for two and a half hours are really uncomfortable. So I’m bringing my pillow to every class because it’s the only thing that keeps by back from screaming, and I’ll sit on the floor if I feel like it.

Golly, I’m in a mood today. Well, that’s what happens when you’re pregnant I guess. And it’s not helping that little one keeps pushing out on every part of my belly. It hurts, but I’d rather have him moving around like he is than not. We are 31 weeks along with just 9 more to go (give or take). I just have to keep reminding myself to count my blessings, of which there are many. That’s a post for another day though (this one’s long enough as it is).

About sapphireartist

I am.... a Christian who appreciates world religions, a wife, a mother a daughter, a best friend, a strong woman, an artist, a hopeless romantic, a theater buff, a dancer, a musician, a writer, a dog person, a cat person, a sister, an aunt, a food critic, my own worst critic, a world traveler, a lover of freedom, a tree huger, a lover of the sea, a Disney fan, a Virgo, an avid reader, a country girl living in the big city, an actress, a movie goer, a worry wart, a sailor, addicted to cheesecake. I hope to be........well, you'll just have to find out by reading my blog. :)

Posted on July 11, 2012, in Pregnancy, Projects, What's going on. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

