To be or not to be…

While Hamlet’s famous line contemplates life or death, mine is referencing a way of life. For the past eight years I have wanted to be an art teacher. After finishing my BFA in 2008, I started sending my resume out every time I heard of an opening in a three county radius. I have kept every rejection notice. I have been rejected over 80 times. So why do I keep at it? Hope. Want. Need.

Coming from a poor family, I was always taught to work hard and to always have hope. I want to be in a classroom, making a difference in kids’ lives. I need a higher paying day job in order to make ends meat. I used to love my current job, but lately because of my boss it has become nothing more than a paycheck, and a small one at that. A first year teacher makes about $10,000 more per year than I do. With that, we would no longer be living paycheck to paycheck, and we would be able to afford to have another child.

I have my resume in six schools currently. And this time, I am VERY hopeful. Why? Because this time, the county art coordinator knows I exist. And even better…he wants to meet me and view my portfolio. I owe this to my college photo professor. She knows him, and I thank her tremendously for putting him in touch with me. So wish me luck this week.

About sapphireartist

I am.... a Christian who appreciates world religions, a wife, a mother a daughter, a best friend, a strong woman, an artist, a hopeless romantic, a theater buff, a dancer, a musician, a writer, a dog person, a cat person, a sister, an aunt, a food critic, my own worst critic, a world traveler, a lover of freedom, a tree huger, a lover of the sea, a Disney fan, a Virgo, an avid reader, a country girl living in the big city, an actress, a movie goer, a worry wart, a sailor, addicted to cheesecake. I hope to be........well, you'll just have to find out by reading my blog. :)

Posted on November 5, 2013, in What's going on, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow! Your dedication and patience are an inspiration to me-five years trying to get a job that you love and you are still positive about it. Good Luck!

    • Thanks. I just know I’m supposed to be in a classroom. There have been times of frustration where I wanted to give up, but I’m stubborn. Lol. It’s just a matter of finding the one principal willing to give me a chance.

      • It took me over five years to get back into this type of work and now I have to pinch myself and realize how long I worked to get here. Let me know when you get there.

Leave a Reply

